top of page

Financial Education Conference Day 3

The highlight for me of Day 3 of the Annual Conference on Financial Literacy has been the session on rigging Monopoly. Doug Young's version of the game is about wealth, private property and the "Dream." Sadly, there is a twist to this version. Players don't start the game as equals. I, unfortunately, started the game as a day labourer. I could only roll one die, I was given less for passing Go and I started with considerably less in my account and only one cheap property. The really rich players started with thousands, several properties and utilities, and a get out of jail free card. Try rolling a double when you only have one die! Great social and financial lesson! Doug also recommended this online game for personal finance, these nifty fifty econ cards, and Virtual Enterprises International. Thanks Doug.



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page